Web based file and documents manager help
Navigation
Folders
One or several root folders are available. They look like a folder tree in the left
area. Use the
Folders button in the toolbar to show or hide the tree of the
root folders.
List
There is a list of content of the current folder in the right interface area. You
may go to the subfolders or the parent folders by double-clicking.
File choice
You may choose one or several files or folders by clicking on the
items and using
Ctrl and
Shift or all the items with the help of the menu.
Menu
Context menu can be seen by right-clicking with your mouse or clicking on the
File
button in the toolbar.
Main files operations
You can do basic file operations:
create, copy, edit, cut, delete, rename, preview, zip and unzip.
Files upload and download
Upload
Depending on the application settings, you may use several ways to upload files:
- Standard — upload files one by one using the Browse button. Note! Latest browsers
like Firefox, Chrome, Internet Explorer supports multiple file upload!
- Drag'n'Drop — if you using latest browser versions, you can add and upload files
with help of drag'n'drop function.
- Java — select multiple files and folders at the same time.
- Flash — select and upload multiple files at the same time.
- Silverlight — select and upload multiple files at the same time by chunks
(it helps to upload files that are more than 2GB). It supports drag-n-drop function.
- Google Drive — files uploading from your
Google Drive account.
- Dropbox — files uploading from your
Dropbox account.
- Microsoft OneDrive — files uploading from your
OneDrive account.
- Box — files uploading from your
Box account.
- Upload from URL — you can specify a URL of a file stored at a global file
server or at a file sharing services like
Dropbox,
Picasa,
Flickr,
PhotoBucket,
Facebook.
Note. You can use a ZIP archive to upload multiple files and then
extract it on the server side, using
Unpack Zip in context menu.
Download
Select one or multiple files and folders and click the button
Download (in the menu to download them).
Depending on the settings you may download the files one by one
or use the Java downloader to download multiple files and folders.
There are some other ways to download files:
Compress and download —
option in the menu for automatic compression
of the selected files and their downloading in a zip archive.
Cloud storages →
dowload to...
Google Drive,
Dropbox,
OneDrive,
Box — files/folders downloading to your Cloud storages accounts.
Links
to files and folders
It allows you to download a file quickly without opening the main interface or to
open a folder. Choose
Share
submenu in context menu (or in toolbar) and next item
Link to file/folder.
Notice that other users should log in and have an access to the folder. Otherwise they
will get an error.
Sharing
files, folders for your own visitors
You can create your own shares i.e provide access to your folder/file for your own
visitors. Select needed folder/file and click from the context menu
Share (or find this item on toolbar) and
next item
Create public link.
This feature provides anonymous access to the folder/file.
Any user, even one who does not have an account in the web file manager, may download
or upload files via public link. Public link to the folder allows the user to download
both whole folders (packed in archive) and individual files. You can get set up
email notifications to be notified about visitor activity.
Link to Web Folders
(folder mapping)
Web folders makes it possible to map the folders to your
local OS using WebDAV protocol. You may work
with your files like with local ones. You do not need a browser for work or to log in every time.
You just need to open a folder that you map in OS. (in Microsoft Windows – in Windows explorer).
Popular OS Windows, MacOS, Ubuntu, etc. support mapping web folder.
It is very easy to map web folder:
- Select needed folder; in context menu choose submenu
more (or click this button in toolbar)
and next
Map web folder.
- If you using Microsoft Windows, then copy the one from the command connection
the command line Windows (can be accessed up to three teams: the current folder, the parent and root). For example:
net use "*" "http://example.com/htcomnet/hcwebdav/". Next
click OK and if needed input your login and password.
- Also for Windows OSs available other way to connect. Copy link for mapping.
Or copy link for root folder below:
Right click on Computer in Windows Explorer (or This Computer for Windows 8, 8.1)
and select Add a network location. In the new dialog Add Network Location
click Next button. Select "Choose a custom network location" and click
Next button. Insert the link of the web folder in the "Internet or Network
address" field, click "Next".
Note! It is strongly recommended for Windows 7, Vista, XP, 2003 users to
install
Microsoft Web folders update (2.3 Mb) to be able to use mapping feature!
- For MacOS: In the "Finder" menu, open Go->Connect
to Server, insert the link of the web folder in the "Server address"
field, click "Connect", in the new dialog select "Guest" or "Registered
user" (for Windows authentication), click "Connect".
- For Ubuntu: Open Go->Location... Copy the link of the
web folder to the location field and repace "http://" with "dav://"
or "https://" with "davs://".
After you have mapped a web folder, you may open it without visiting the web site
next time. Note! If you change your password, the directory to the web folder will
be changed and you need to map it again (except Windows authentication cases).
Details
You may specify comments, descriptions or other metadata for files and folders by clicking
Details in the menu.
Note! Details are saved if files are copied, moved or renamed.
Office and images files view and edit
Web File Manager has a lot of functions to work with office documents.
Documents view
Text and PDF documents, image files, you can view directly in your browser, selecting
View / edit →
View in browser in context menu or toolbar.
If folder contains image files, then view them as a slide show, you can use the opportunity to
View / edit →
Images preview, or switch the view file list
in the thumbnail view (button on toolbar
View →
Thumbnail view).
In addition, you can use online services
Google Docs,
Microsoft Office Web Viewer
to view documents in various formats.
To do this, select the file, click on the menu (or toolbar)
View / edit desired item (if it is allowed by the administrator).
Next link will be created by clicking on which you can view the file.
Supported formats in Google Docs:
pdf, doc, docx, ppt, pptx, tif, tiff, xls, xlsx, pages, ai, psd, svg, eps, ps, xps, ttf, zip, rar, dxf, txt, css,
html, htm, php, c, cpp, h, hpp, js.
Supported formats in Microsoft Office Web Viewer:
doc, docx, docm, dotm, dotx, xls, xlsx, xlsb, xlsm, pptx, ppsx, ppt, pps, pptm, potm, ppam, potx, ppsm
(Word and PowerPoint documents must be less than 10 megabytes; Excel must be less than 5 megabytes).
Online documents editing
Small size text documents you can edit by selecting from the context menu (or toolbar)
item
View / edit →
Edit as text file.
Also using the service
Zoho Docs you can edit popular office document formats
(doc, docx, xls, xlsx, ppt, pptx, pps, odt, ods, odp, sxw, sxc, sxi, wpd, rtf, txt, html, csv, tsv),
selecting
View / edit →
Edit in Zoho.
Image files (jpg, jpeg, png, gif, bmp, psd, pxd) can be edited using the online service
Pixlr:
View / edit →
Edit in Pixlr. In addition to editing, you can create in Pixlr
new images using the context menu or toolbar command
New →
Image in Pixlr.
Primary means of online editing office documents are applications on your computer
Microsoft Office, or free
Apache OpenOffice,
LibreOffice. You do not
need to download or upload the files. Microsoft Office, OpenOffice, LibreOffice
do it automatically. You just need to have these applications installed on your
local computer.
How it works:
- Select a file of one of the following types. Microsoft Office types: accda, accdb, accdc,
accde, accdp, accdr, accdt, accdu, ade, adp, maf, mam, maq, mar, mat, mda, mde,
mdt, mdw, laccdb, snp, csv, dbf, dif, ods, prn, slk, xla, xlam, xls, xlsb, xlsm,
xlsx, xlt, xltm, xltx, xlw, xml, xps, obi, oft, ost, prf, pst, msg, oab, iaf, emf,
odp, pot, potm, potx, ppa, ppam, pps, ppsm, ppsx, ppt, pptm, pptx, pptx, rtf, thmx,
tif, wmf, xml, xps, doc, docm, docx, dot, dotm, dotx, htm, html, mht, mhtml, odt,
rtf, txt, wps, xml, xps, btr, dwt, elm, fwp, htx, mso
or OpenOffice / LibreOffice types: sxd, sxm, sxi, sxc, sxw, odb, odf, odt, ott,
oth, and, odm, sxw, stw, sxg, doc, dot, xml, docx, docm, dotx, dotm, wpd, wps, rtf,
txt, csv, sdw, sgl, vor, uot, uof, jtd, jtt, hwp, 602, pdb, psw, ods, ots, sxc,
stc, xls, xlw, xlt, xlsx, xlsm, xltx, xltm, xlsb, wk1, wks, 123, dif, csv, sdc,
vor, dbf, slk, uos, uof, pxl, wb2, odp, odg, std, otp, otg, sxi, sti, ppt, pps,
pot, pptx, pptm, potx, potm, ppsx, sda, sdd, sdp, vor, uop, uof, cgm, bmp, jpeg,
jpg, pcx, psd, sgv, wmf, dxf, met, pgm, ras, svm, xbm, emf, pbm, plt, sda, tga,
xpm, eps, pcd, png, sdd, tif, tiff, gif, pct, ppm, sgf, vor, mml.
- Select in menu
View /
edit one of commands
Edit in MS Office or
Edit in OpenOffice / LibreOffice.
The relevant application will launch with the selected files opened
for editing. If for some reason the application has not launched, copy the link to the file and
open it in Microsoft Office, LibreOffice or OpenOffice.
- To save the changes in the document, press Сtrl+S combination or click on
the Save in the File menu of Microsoft Office, LibreOffice or OpenOffice.
The document will be saved and uploaded to server automatically.
Features and settings of Microsoft office:
- Microsoft Office by default does not work with Basic authentication
without SSL (does not allow the user to read a document or open it in read
only mode). If you got a message that the application is running under Basic authentication
without SSL then you can make a fix in the registry key. After that, Office will
work.
Complete the following steps (for more info, read Microsoft related article):
- Note! It is strongly recommended for Windows 7, Vista, XP, 2003 users to
install
Microsoft Web folders update (2.3 Mb) to be able to use this feature!
- Microsoft Office supports file lock for prohibiting simultaneous file editing
by several users. If a file has been blocked by another user, you cannot edit the
file, but you can read it and you will get a notification from MS Office as soon
as the file is available.
- By default Microsoft office blocks the document for editing. After you enable editing
of a file, it will be downloaded from server again. To increase the efficiency,
you may enable immediate editing in settings: In Microsoft Office menu select File → Options → Trust
Center → Trust Center Settings...(button) → Protected View uncheck Enable Protected
View for files originating from the Internet.
- Microsoft office 2010 does not support file links with more than 255 symbols, so
try to use short file names with ASCII characters.
Features and settings of OpenOffice / LibreOffice:
This is a free application that is available for many OS on the websites OpenOffice,
LibreOffice. At the moment OpenOffice and LibreOffice does not support
file lock, so be aware if there are users simultaneously working
with documents. OpenOffice is planning to add this functionality in 3.4 version.
OpenOffice and LibreOffice application uses Java applet for launch. If you do
not want to allow the applet, you may get a file link and open this file in the
OpenOffice / LibreOffice Open dialogue.
Recommended settings for OpenOffice, LibreOffice:
- If you don't want to type the login and password every time, you may enable OpenOffice
/ LibreOffice Quickstarter that saves information about a user: Open Tools → Options → OpenOffice
(LibreOffice) → Memory, check Load OpenOffice (LibreOffice) during system
start-up.
- To save the files opened via links (without Java applet), you need to enable it
in settings: Go to Tools → Options → OpenOffice (LibreOffice), check Use
OpenOffice (LibreOffice) dialogs.
Cloud storages
In context menu or toolbar is available (depending on settings) menu
Cloud storages,
which allows you to interact (upload and download files, folders) with popular cloud services
storage:
Google Drive,
Dropbox,
Microsoft OneDrive,
Box.
Upload/Download
documents to Google Drive (online documents edit and sharing)
You can download documents to your Google Drive account (
Cloud storages →
dowload to... →
Google Drive) or upload them back (
Cloud storages →
upload from... →
Google Drive). After
download you can modify the document using only your browser and then upload the
modified document back to the web file manager. Authentication
is passed at Google site so nobody wont get your password.
Dropbox —
free online backup, file sync and sharing.
To download file to your Dropbox account select files, folders and then choose (in menu or toolbar)
Cloud storages →
download to... →
Dropbox. To upload —
Cloud storages →
upload from... →
Dropbox. Authentication is passed at Dropbox
site so nobody will get your password.
Microsoft OneDrive
You can create an account at a free online files, documents edit and sharing service
Microsoft OneDrive (if you already have Microsoft Live ID
then you dont need to register at OneDrive!). With web file manager you can download files, folders to your OneDrive
account (
Cloud
storages →
dowload to... →
Microsoft OneDrive) or upload from it (
Cloud storages →
upload from... →
Microsoft OneDrive). At the OneDrive website you can
edit your documents and share files for other users.
Box —
free online backup, file sync and sharing cloud service
For download to Box select files, folders and use command
Cloud storages →
download to... →
Box. To upload —
Cloud storages →
upload from... →
Box.
Hyperlinks
Web file manager allows you to add hyper links to the list of files. They are represented
with small .url files.
Opening a hyper link is a two step process. First, click on the .url file to open
a window with the hyper link. Second, click on the hyper link to open the URL in
a new browser window (or in a tab).
Screenshot
To create a hyper link file, you need Internet Explorer.
- Open the target web page in Internet Explorer.
- Open main menu (press F10 if it is not visible) → File → Send → Shortcut
to Desktop.
-
A conformation dialog appears. Click "yes" to confirm that you want to create a
shortcut on desktop.
Screenshot
- Upload the shortcut file to Web file manager.
You may change name of the file, but do not touch the extension.
.url files are standard Windows
ini files with custom extension. You may create them in a text editor if
you do not have Internet Explorer or you do not want to use it.
Mobile view

You can view a 100% mobile interface on your device: Click Settings → Mobile interface
or type "Default.aspx?Mobile=" URL in your mobile browser.
Application supports: iPhone/iPad, Android-based,
Blackberry v.6+, Bada, Windows Mobile, Phone
and some other mobile device OS's.
You can also download a mobile application for your iPhone/iPad at
http://itunes.apple.com/us/app/http-commander/id561413475?mt=8
and for Android at https://play.google.com/store/apps/details?id=com.elementit.httpcommander.
For more info about the mobile version see Mobile users Help
Settings
Click
Settings options in the
toolbar and select necessary type of settings. In the resulting menu, use the following settings:
Change interface language.
Change password.
Change e-mail.
Switch to mobile interface (the option can be prohibited by administrator).